I am not Jack Welch – A Foot Soldier’s Guide Leading Change

There is no shortage of excellent material on change management available. More than likely, anyone reading this is familiar with the books by Kotter, Bridges, etc. They are all very good. I have referenced them extensively throughout my career. The problem (for lack of a better word) with virtually every one of the “Leading Change Effectively” books out there is that they are geared toward the high-level perspective of business leaders. You know what I mean… “Establish a vision, visible authentic leadership, yada yada yada…” Unfortunately I am not Jack Welch. I suspect that you are not either. I don’t get to set the vision, or to speak to the all-employee meeting. I have to try to drive change vicariously.
How do you as a consultant, or as an individual contributor, get change to happen when you are lucky to get 30 minutes a month one-on-one with a senior leader? Or you can only get 10 minutes on a leadership team agenda? Add to the mix that many of the people you are trying to reach don’t understand anything about organizational change management, but are sure that they do, and are equally sure that they don’t need you telling them about it.
I had an epiphany recently. There’s plenty of great reference material for the generals in the change management wars, but there is little to no good reference material for the foot soldiers (of which I am proud to count myself).
Over the next few weeks I’ll be posting new material from the view of the foot soldier. Some of it will be new, and some will be a revisit to some previous posts to change up the perspective.
This will be fun. Let’s see where this goes.

3 responses to “I am not Jack Welch – A Foot Soldier’s Guide Leading Change

  1. Bob, one of my favourite resources on this topic is ‘Leadership without easy answers’ by Ronald Heifetz. There is an interview with him here on leadership without authority which resonates with me. http://www.well.com/~bbear/heifetz.html#leaders

    I look forward to your posts on the topic.
    Eadine

    • Bob Von Der Linn

      Eadine – Thanks for sharing this link! There is great stuff here. I’m going to link back to this post.

  2. Pingback: Credibility as a Consultant – Expertise and Execution | Bob Von Der Linn's HPT Blog

Leave a Reply

