Pecha Kucha & Leading from the Heart

Recently I have been investigating alternative group facilitation techniques and presentation formats.  I was lucky enough to meet Jon Mueller from 800CEORead.com who introduced me to the Pecha Kucha presentation format.  The basic premise is that you must use 20 slides that advance automatically after 20 seconds each – no pausing.  You’ll see it referred to as the 20×20 format.  You can learn more details about it here.  To make a long story short, Jon convinced me that the best way to familiarize myself with the format was to do one.  So I did.  I can tell you that the format will absolutely revolutionize the way you think about preparing and presenting any content.

Anyway…

I’ve always been a believer in, and an advocate for, leading from your heart (See the brilliant Simon Sinek presentation at TED in this blog).   I thought I would try my hand at inspiring others by putting my own heart on my sleeve.   It seemed like a good idea at the time.  I had no idea how many different ways this endeavor would challenge me.  I have spoken to very large audiences, facilitated teams of high-profile C-suite executives, but this was easily the most nervous I’ve been before a presentation in twenty plus years.  It turned out to be a fabulous experience.

I’ve attached a link to a video of the presentation.  You will learn a lot about me, and hopefully, what I believe about Dreaming Big Dreams and Never Stop Doing the Things You Love will inspire you too.

Pecha Kucha Nite Milwaukee #10

Please visit the Pecha Kucha.org website, find an event near you and attend!

2 responses to “Pecha Kucha & Leading from the Heart

  1. That is a great video on so many levels.. – watch out we will suck you into the wonky world of patient centered design advocates.

Leave a Reply

